Apps and Mobile Resources for Health Sciences and Medicine

The READ by QxMD app works exclusively with PubMed and the USD Libraries subscription content for full text access.

Remember, PubMed is primarily a citation database in which the full text comes from library subscriptions.

Once installed and tied to our institutional access, one-touch access takes you to the PDF full-text article, provided it is a journal to which we subscribe to, or is open access.

If you select your login preference as automatic, you need not login again; the app "remembers you".

Follow these steps to set up the QxMD app on your mobile device:

1. Download the Read by QxMD app from your favorite app store.

2. Create a Medscape Network Account or sign in if you already have one.

3. Click on the tools/settings icon in the top left corner.

4. Choose Institutional Access.

5. Select the + sign in the bottom right corner to add an institution.

6. Tap the magnifying glass in the top right corner and type University of South Dakota".

7. Tap on University of South Dakota and select your login preference. 8. Enter your full USD or partner credentials and click the checkmark in the upper right corner (Note - You will need to Duo authenticate if you are a USD user).

More information: 

Read by QxMD works with PubMed to provide a personalized curation of literature in subjects that interest you; these lists are created based off articles you like and share, as well as specialties you select.

Results are personalized based on the information you provide about your profession, specialization, and additional areas of interest.  As a QxMD and Medscape Network member, you can:

• Find and read peer-reviewed clinical content
• Select specific journals to follow so you are notified when new content is added.  You can edit your journal preferences at any time.
• Save and share collections or follow other members' collections.
• Use the My Keywords function to save keywords and be notified on new articles matching your keywords.  My Keywords can follow basic search strings, or you can use any combination of advanced search techniques with your keywords (Boolean operators, truncation, parentheses, and phrase searching with quotation marks)
• Save pdfs to be read offline, annotate, highlight, or share with others

QxMD provides access to USD's subscriptions. If USD does not subscribe to the journal, the full-text pdf will not be available.

Visit the QxMD FAQ guide to learn about setting up CME tracking.