Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Basic Biomedical Sciences

Please visit the homepage for the University of South Dakota's Department of Basic Biomedical Sciences for more information.

The following databases contain resources that will benefit your research and studies:

PubMed is the National Library of Medicine’s web interface for searching the MEDLINE database as well as other related citations. MEDLINE contains citations and abstracts to the world’s literature in medicine, nursing, pharmacy, dentistry, public health, allied health, health administration, and the pre-clinical sciences. 

Getting to PubMed

  • Start from the Libraries home page: http://www.usd.edu/library
  • Scroll to the black bar ( Books & More | Databases | Journals/E-books | Research Guides | Interlibrary Loan)
  • Click on the Databases tab.  Then click A-Z Databases
  • When the A-Z databases page opens, click P
  • Click on PubMed

Use the videos below to help begin your search in PubMed, or check out our PubMed tutorial guide.  As always, contact your librarian to schedule an appointment for a one-on-one PubMed searching consultation.

​CINAHL is a primary database for nursing and allied health students and professionals.

Getting to CINAHL

Largest citation database in science, engineering, medicine and technology; also the social sciences, arts and humanities are represented.

Getting to Web of Science

  • Start from the Libraries home page: http://www.usd.edu/library
  • Scroll to the black bar ( Books & More | Databases | Journals/E-books | Research Guides | Interlibrary Loan)
  • Click on the Databases tab.  Then click A-Z Databases
  • When the A-Z databases page opens, click W
  • Click on Web of Science

Watch videos on how to use the Influenza Research Database (IRD) and the Virus Pathogen Resource (ViPR).  Both of these databases are NIAID sponsored bioinformatics databases.  You can find their list of videos on their YouTube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/user/irdvipr/featured

When searching databases, take time to design your search strategy thoroughly. 

Focus on one concept at a time; list your main idea for concept #1 along with synonyms, abbreviations, and alternate spellings.  Everything in Concept 1 should use the OR boolean.  Do the same thing for your other concepts. 

Use the AND boolean to combine your concepts together. 

Using a Venn Diagram can be useful in your search strategy design:

BBS Venn  

Additional searching tips:

* (asterisk) - Most databases recognize this as a truncation tool.  Use it to truncate your word and search a variation of the words.  For example: neoplas* will search for neoplasm, neoplasms, neoplastic, non-neoplastic, neoplasia, etc.

" " (quotations) - Most databases will search your words as a phrase when they are placed in quotation marks.  For example, a database will search for the words molecular and biomarker together when they are placed in quotations, like this "molecular biomarker".  If you search for molecular biomarker without the quotation marks, the database will search for the words molecular and biomarker, but they won't be next to each other.  In other words, the resource you find may discuss the term biomarkers (e.g., blood biomarkers, nanosized biomarkers, cancer biomarkers, etc.) in one paragraph and the term molecular (molecular weights, molecular effects, molecular mechanisms, molecular phenotypes, etc.) in another paragraph.

Here's a video from B.D. Owens Library (Northwest Missouri State University) to help explain boolean operators, asterisks, and quotation marks:

Footer for USD LibGuide v2.0