Endnote

Chicago Notes-Bibliography style (Chicago 17th or Turabian 9th) uses footnotes throughout the text as well as a bibliography to present source information. It is better suited than APA to deal with the wide variety of sources used in art and design, and is the preferred style for some students in the School of Art and Design.

This section focuses specifically on how to use EndNote to produce Chicago 17th/Turabian 9^th references. Use other sections for general topics such as creating an EndNote Library, importing or organising references, etc.

• Chicago Referencing Guide

  AUT Library's extensive guide to using the Chicago (Notes-Bibliography) referencing style.

• For correctly formatted references the output style must be set to Chicago 17th/Turabian 9^th Footnote
• Do this each time for campus computers, as they default to Annotated
• Choose Chicago 17th/Turabian 9^th Footnote in the Output Style dropdown 
• If you can't see this style in the dropdown, choose Select Another Style
• Scroll to find the style you need
• Highlight, then click Choose

Before inserting a Chicago note reference into your written work, you need to insert a footnote.

• Open your Word document and EndNote, check Chicago 17th/Turabian 9^th Footnote is the selected output style in EndNote
• In your document, position the cursor where you wish to insert a citation (after the punctuation if this is at the end of a sentence)
• On the Word ribbon, click References > Insert Footnote
• A superscript number should appear where you placed the cursor
• The cursor should now be positioned in an empty footnote that has appeared at the bottom of the page

• Position your cursor in an empty footnote and select the EndNote tab on the Word ribbon
• Make sure that the Style in Word is set to the same style as you chose in EndNote
• Click Insert Citation

The Find & Insert My References dialog box will open

• Enter identifying words from author, title or keyword fields, click Find
• Highlight the correct reference from your search results, click Insert

EndNote returns you to Word. The footnote will now contain citation details for the reference and a bibliography will appear at the end of the document, with this citation as the first entry.

An alternative to inserting citations from Word:

• Make sure both your Word document and EndNote library are open and the style is the same in both
• Create an empty footnote in your document, position your cursor inside it
• Open the EndNote tab on the Word ribbon, select Go to EndNote

Select the reference/s to insert. To select multiple references:

• Highlight the first reference
• Hold down the <Ctrl> key (<Cmd> for Mac) and click on the second reference

Both references should be highlighted.

• Click Insert Citation

EndNote returns you to Word. The footnote will now contain citation details for both references and a bibliography will appear at the end of the document, listing the citations in alphabetical order.

• Ensure your Word document and EndNote library are open and the style is the same in both
• Open the EndNote tab on the Word ribbon, select Insert Citation
• Enter identifying words from author, title, or keyword fields, click Find
• Highlight the correct reference from your search results, click the Insert button drop-down and select Insert in Bibliography Only

Sources accessed online that are likely to change (usually webpages, but not pdfs or other documents hosted on webpages) must have an access date added to the record. This is the date that you viewed the item.

• Open the reference in EndNote and scroll down to the Access Date field (sometimes called Date Accessed)
• Add the date in Month Day, Year format

For journal articles found online, there are several options for entering location information in EndNote.

• DOI (Digital Object Identifier): The unique alphanumeric sequence assigned by the journal publisher
• URL: The web address you obtained the article from
• Name of Database: The name of the library or commercial database you obtained the article from

Entering location information

• If there is a DOI listed with the article credits, enter it into the DOI field, copying and pasting if necessary
  
   
•  If there is no DOI and you found the journal article in a library or commercial database, enter the name of the database in the URL field (replace any URL already there)
  
   
• If there is no DOI, and the article is not from a library or commercial database, make sure the URL is in the URL field, copying and pasting if necessary