Endnote

• About Cite While You Write >>
   
• Inserting Citations
   
• Edit Formatted Citations
   
• Change Output Style (switch citation styles)
   
• Remove Field Codes (send your paper to your publisher/professor)
   
• Cite While You Write for Macs
  Videos: 

• • CWYW-MAC: Find Citations
  • CWYW-MAC: Insert Citations
  • CWYW-MAC: Format Bibliography

• What is Cite While You Write (CWYW)?
  • CWYW allows you to use your EndNote references to insert citations in a Microsoft Word document.
  • CWYW automatically creates a bibliography from the inserted citations.
  • CWYW allows you to change the format of your citations and bibliography, which is a useful feature when you want to submit an article to several publishers with different formatting requirements.
• How do I get Cite While Your Write (CWYW)?
  • Need to have Microsoft Word installed on your computer before you install EndNote.
  • EndNote 20 is compatible with Microsoft Word 2010, 2013, 2016, 2019, Office 365 (locally installed desktop version only)
  • When you install EndNote on your computer, an EndNote menu is automatically added to your Microsoft Word toolbar.

EndNote Menu in Microsoft Word

• Open the EndNote library with the references that you wish to cite.  Prior to inserting citations, we recommend that you find duplicate references within your EndNote library.  To find duplicate references:
  • In the Groups panel in the left column, click on All References to display all the references in your library.
  • From the menu bar, select References > Find Duplicates.
  • If you have duplicate references in your library, the Find Duplicates dialog box will appear.  For each set of duplicates, you have the following options:
    • Click Keep This Record to save the preferred reference and discard the other in the trash.
    • Click Skip to leave both references in the library. The references will be placed in a temporary Duplicate References group for later review.

Find Duplicates Dialog Box

• Open your Microsoft Word document.
• When you are ready to cite a source, position the cursor where you want to insert a citation.  You can either insert a citation from within Microsoft Word or from within EndNote.
• To insert a citation from within Word:
  • Click on the EndNote menu tab in the Word toolbar.
  • Click Insert Citation and choose Insert Citation... from the drop-down menu.

• • The EndNote Find & Insert My References dialog box will appear.  In the text box at the top of the dialog box, enter text (author's last name, year, title, keyword) to search for the reference in your library.  Click the Find button.
  • In the results of your search, click on the reference that you want to cite to highlight it. To highlight multiple references, hold down the Ctrl key while you click on references. 
  • Once you have selected your references, click on the Insert button.  The selected references will be inserted into your Word document and displayed as defined by the current Output Style.

• To insert a citation from within EndNote:
  • In EndNote, highlight the references that you wish to cite.  To highlight multiple references, hold down the Ctrl key while you click on references.
  • Once you have selected your references, click on the Insert Citation button  in the toolbar along the top.  The selected references will be inserted into your Word document.
• Note: Save your Word document after inserting citations.

Follow these instructions to modify, add or delete formatted citations.

• In your Microsoft Word document, click on the citation that you wish to edit, becoming grey.  
• Click on the EndNote menu tab in the Word toolbar.
• Click on Edit & Manage Citation(s).  The EndNote Edit & Manage Citations dialog box will appear.

• Modify Citations
  • In the EndNote Edit & Manage Citations dialog box, click on the citation you wish to edit.
  • From the dropdown menu next to Formatting, choose how you want the in-text citation to appear.  For example, you can choose to Exclude Author or Exclude Year from the citation.
  • Add a prefix or suffix by typing text in the Prefix or Suffix boxes.  The text will appear before (prefix) or after (suffix) the citation.
  • Add page numbers to the citation by entering numbers into the Pages box.  Page numbers will only appear for Output Styles that contain a cited pages code, for example, MLA and Chicago.
  • Click OK to close the dialog box.

EndNote Edit & Manage Citations Dialog Box

• Add Additional Citations
  • In the EndNote Edit & Manage Citations dialog box, click on the citation you wish to edit.
  • From the Edit Reference drop-down menu, select Insert Citation.  The EndNote Find & Insert My References dialog box will appear.
  • See instructions above (Inserting Citations) for how to find and insert a reference from within a Word document.  The new references will be added to the current citation.
  • Click OK to close the dialog box.
• Delete Citations
  • In the EndNote Edit & Manage Citations dialog box, click on the citation you wish to edit.
  • From the Edit Reference drop-down menu, select Remove Citation.
  • Note: Do NOT use the Delete or Backspace key to remove a citation from your Word document.  EndNote codes associated with the citation may not be erased and your document could become corrupted.
• When you have made all the desired changes, click the OK button to close the dialog box.

EndNote Edit & Manage Citations Dialog Box

• What is an Output Style?
  • Templates that control appearance of in-text citations, footnotes and bibliographies.
  • Styles defined by journal, such as Nature, or publisher, such as American Psychological Association (APA).
• How to Change Output Style in Word Document
  • Click on the EndNote menu tab in Word toolbar.
  • Click on the Styles menu.  Select the desired style.  Your citations, footnotes and bibliography will now appear in this style. 

Style Menu in Microsoft Word

• What are field codes?
  • Cite While Your Write places data around and inside your formatted citations in Word, which allows EndNote to Format, unformat and reformat citations within Word.  These are field codes.  
  • Removing field codes means deleting the field codes and saving the formatted citations and bibliography as text.
• Why would I want to remove field codes?
  • Journal publishers request that you remove field codes when submitting a manuscript. 
  • Sharing your Word document with a colleague who is using a different word processor or an incompatible version of Word (EndNote 20 is compatible with Microsoft Word  2010, 2013, 2016, 2019, Office 365).
• How do I remove field codes?
  • Open a copy of your formatted Word document. 
  • Click on the EndNote menu tab in the Word toolbar.
  • Click on Convert Citations and Bibliography and choose Convert to Plain Text from the drop-down menu.
  • A dialog box will appear informing you that the Convert to Plain Text command will create a new copy of your document with no field codes.  Click OK.  The new document will appear in a new unsaved document window.
  • Save the new document.
  • Note: Once you have removed field codes, you cannot reformat your citations and bibliography.  Make sure you maintain your original documents with EndNote field codes.