It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Writing a Paper - Topic: Health Sciences: Find Articles
Here is some basic info on how to choose a topic, and resources to use to help you get started with writing a paper in the health sciences.
If you find a journal article that is not available electronically, our print journal collections are located on the second floor of The University Libraries. Alternatively, if we do not own the journal article in print or in electronic format, you can obtain the article via Interlibrary Loan.
If you have a citation, search the Journals List by journal title.
You can also search journal title in the library catalog. Older citations may be available hard copy in the library, if not available electronically.
It is a fairly common practice for scholarly journal publishers to place an "embargo" -- a restriction on access to the full-text of their journal covering a specific time period - on subscriptions to that journal that come through academic database publishers like EBSCOHost. Generally, such an embargo means that while the databases that index the journal will provide abstracts and citation information, the full-text of the article will not be available to Library users during the embargo period.
Embargos usually range from 6 months to 18 months, with 1 year being the most common duration. Note that even if a journal is embargoed, current articles may be obtained via Interlibrary Loan.
PubMed @ USD
Where to find articles/journals in databases
Note: Access to the Library's subscription databases, e-journals and e-books is restricted to users with USD or Wegner accounts. From off-campus, you will be prompted to log in to the USD EZProxy Server using your USD or Wegner Partner ID and password. Details at: http://libguides.usd.edu/proxy