Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Theatre

This guide is a starting point for research in the University Libraries. It provides a selective list of print and electronic resources available for all aspects of Theatre study-scholarly as well as performance, production and design.

Play Databases

Digital Theatre Plus
Provides online access to streaming video of current theatre productions including behind-the-scenes documentaries as well as teaching and learning resources to facilitate understanding of the productions and texts for English Literature and Performing Arts.

New Play Exchange
New Play Exchange (NPX) is a script discovery database. Search, read and download scripts, view writer profiles, contact writers, read script recommendations from professionals throughout the field.

Reference Books in Print and Online

Oxford Art and Oxford Reference Online

Oxford Art Online Look under the subject entries for "Fashion, Jewelry and Body Art" and "Textiles and Embroidery".  Several costume designers are listed under the Benezit Dictionary of Artists within Oxford Art Online.

Oxford Reference Online is a fully indexed, cross-searchable database of about 100 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press.

Searches sources such as: 

Using ARTstor for Theatre & Dance Research

How to cite images

Documenting sources for images can be challenging, especially with the variety of new electronic resources now available. Many different style manuals exist. Always ask your class instructor for the style appropriate for the course.

Examples below are based on the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers, 7th ed

Works of art reproduced in a printed source

 

Artist’s last name, first name. Title of art work in italics. Date of art work. 
           Institution where art work is housed (if known), city where housed if 
           not already named. Title of printed source in italics. By Author of printed
           source. Place of publication: publisher, date. Page or plate/figure/slide
           number. Print.

example: 

Cassatt, Mary. Mother and Child . Wichita Art Museum. c.1890. American

Painting: 1560-1913 . By John Pearce. New York: McGraw, 1964. 
Slide 22. Print.

 

Works of art reproduced in electronic source

 

Artist’s last name, first name. Title of art work in italics.  Date of art work. 
            Institution where art work is housed (if known), city where housed if not 
            already named. Database or web site name. Web. Day month year 
            accessed.

 example: 

Monet, Claude. Meadow with Haystacks at Giverny. 1885. Museum of Fine

Arts, Boston. ARTstor. Web. 22 October 2004.

 

Footer for USD LibGuide v2.0