It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
SSOM & SHS Faculty Resources/Services: POC
Resources and Services available to faculty at the USD Sanford School of Medicine and School of Health Sciences, and Wegner Partners
Point-of-care resources offer highly-structured clinical decision tools that allow information on diagnosis and treatment to be quickly retrieved at the patient’s bedside.
These resources synthesize and evaluate the most relevant evidence from the primary clinical literature, and they include detailed summaries of a wide range of conditions and interventions, rationale for patient care decisions, and links to original studies.
Some of the point-of-care resources listed here are freely available over the Internet, while others are restricted to USD and Wegner Partner faculty, students, and staff.
Developed by the National Institutes of Health (NIH), ClinicalTrials.gov provides regularly updated information about more than 90,000 federally and privately supported clinical research trials in human volunteers. Users can search the database or can browse by condition, drug intervention, sponsoring agency, or geographic location. Database records provide information about a trial’s purpose, who may participate, study locations, contact information, and more.
Searchable site offering structured summaries of evidence-based clinical practice guidelines. Allows for side-by-side comparison of similar guidelines from different organizations. Provides citations to each guideline’s original source and links to electronic full-text if possible. Sponsored by the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, in partnership with the American Medical Association and the American Association of Health Plans.
By the American College of Physicians. PIER is an authoritative, evidence-based guidance tool to improve clinical care. Evidence for all diseases is evaluated, and the credibility of the evidence is displayed with a rating. Limited user seats; log out when finished.
A collection of six databases that provide high-quality evidence to support clinical care: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews; Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, Cochrane Methodology Register, Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects, Health Technology Assessment Database, and the NHS Economic Evaluation Database. A seventh database provides information about the groups that comprise The Cochrane Collaboration.
Provides the most useful information at the point of care. Usefulness requires a balance of validity, relevance, convenience and affordability. Where available, links are provided to full-text electronic electronic resources via a PubMed reference.
STAT!Ref is primarily a collection of medical books, including dictionaries and other reference works. The database brings them together for easy searching, or browsing by title or discipline. STAT!Ref also includes point-of-care tools such as ACP PIER, ICD-9 and ICD-10, the MedCalc 3000 calculation tools, Merck Manual, Current Diagnosis & Treatment in Pediatrics, and Stedman's Medical Dictionary.