Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Chemistry Resources

Please visit the website for the University of South Dakota's Department of Chemistry for more information about this program.

Selection of Journals in the Catalog

Journal FAQ's

Q: Where are the journals located?

A: Our collection consists of electronic and print journals.  If you are looking for a journal in our print collection, you will find it on the second floor of The University Libraries.

Q: Where is the best place to search for journal articles?

A: Use One Search for your initial query or search a database. you can filter to Chemistry when looking for databases.

Q: Is there a way to get a journal article if The University Libraries doesn't own it?

A: If we do not own a journal article in print, nor electronically, you may submit an Interlibrary Loan request in order to obtain it.

Q: All I have is an abbreviated journal title; is there a way to find out the full journal title?

A: When you have an abbreviation for a journal title, there are two ways to look up the full title

  1. CASSI: CAS Source Index Search Tool
  2. Ulrichsweb Global Serials Directory

Q: Why do some journals show coverage to "1 year ago"?

A: It is a fairly common practice for scholarly journal publishers to place an "embargo" - a restriction on access to the full-text of their journal covering a specific time period - on subscriptions to that journal that come through academic database publishers, like EBSCOHost. Generally, such an embargo means that while the databases that index the journal will provide abstracts and citation information, the full-text of the article will not be available to library users during the embargo period. 

Embargos usually range from 6 months to 18 months, with 1 year being the most common duration. Note that even if a journal is embargoed, current articles may be obtained via Interlibrary Loan.

Footer for USD LibGuide v2.0