LibGuides: Medical Education: Patient Based Learning Exercises

Note

Many resources below are subscription services so users will need to log in using a USD or Wegner Partner user name and password.

Differential Diagnosis

Access Medicine's Diagnosaurus (TM)
Differential diagnosis by symptom, disease, or organ system.
DynaMed Plus
Clinically-organized summaries of medical topics.
Clinical Overviews from ClinicalKey
Synopses of medical topics.
The Rational Clinical Examination
David L. Simel, Drummond Rennie. E- textbook located in JAMAevidence.
Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine
Joseph Loscalzo, Anthony Fauci, Dennis Kasper, Stephen Hauser, Dan Longo, J. Larry Jameson. E-textbook located in Access Medicine.
All Health & Medicine Databases (A-Z List)

Abdominal Pain

Algorithmic Approach to Complaints of Abdominal Pain
From Current Diagnosis & Treatment: Emergency Medicine 8e, 2017- Abdominal Pain
Includes right upper quadrant, epigastric, left upper quadrant, flank, lower abdominal, crampy, and diffuse pain
more...less...
Includes right upper quadrant, epigastric, left upper quadrant, flank, lower abdominal, crampy, and diffuse pain

Headache: Anatomy and Physiology

Clinical Evaluation of Headache: Primary & Secondary
From Harrison's Principals of Internal Medicine, 21e, 2022

Labs

Commonly Used Blood Panels
From the Merck Manual, professional edition. Once open, click on expand symbol (bottom right corner) for more tests.
LabTests Online Test Index
From the American Association for Clinical Chemistry
MedlinePlus Lab Test Definitions & Patient Education
From MedlinePlus.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine
Normal Laboratory Values: Blood, Plasma, and Serum
From the Merck Manual, professional edition. Once open, click on expand symbol (bottom right corner) for more values.
Normal Laboratory Values: Urine
From the Merck Manual, professional edition. Once open, click on expand symbol (bottom right corner) for more values.
Pediatric Test Reference Values
From Mayo Medical Laboratories
Ready Reference Guides - Lab Values
Metric System and equivalent sub units, atomic weights, metric-nonmetric equivalents. From the Merck Manual, professional edition

Pathology

Pathology: The Big Picture
Search by organ system or disease.

Review

Bates Visual Guide to Physical Examination
Head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques. View entire videos or individual chapters based on need.
Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy

BMI Chart

BMI Chart
From the National Institutes of Health

Pulse Rate

Pulse Rates
From MedlinePlus.gov (select 'Click to keep reading'). Provides pulse rates for children - adults and well-trained athletes.

Respiratory Rate

Adult Chart for Respiratory Rates
From Medscape [table 2]
Pediatric Chart for Respiratory Rates
From Healthny.gov

Blood Pressure

Korotkoff Blood Pressure Sights and Sounds (video)

Patient Education

Patient Education Handouts
From ClinicalKey
Patient Education Handouts
From Access Medicine
DailyMed
From the U.S. National Library of Medicine; includes patient counseling information

PPE Personal Protective Equipment

PPE Sequence On/Off from CDC

Video: Respirator Safety/Seal Check from OSHA

Practice Guidelines

Current Practice Guidelines in Primary Care 2023
Jacob A. David
ECRI Guidelines Trust
An interactive guideline portal that includes current, evidence-based clinical practice guideline summaries. Sign up for free login access.
more...less...
Publicly available guideline repository was created by the same team that developed and maintained the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality's National Guideline Clearinghouse™ for more than 20 years.

Calculators

Clinical Calculators (ClinicalKey)
Calculators included in ClinicalKey are drug calculators, clinical criteria/decision trees calculators, medical calculators, and unit conversions calculators.
DynaMed Calculators
DynaMed calculators can be found using the link in the top header menu of DynaMed's main page.
EBMcalc
EBMcalc contains a wide array of medical formulae, clinical criteria sets and decision tree analysis tools.

Vaccination Schedule

Vaccination Schedule
From Redbook Online; American Academy of Pediatrics, updated 2023
more...less...
https://usd.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://redbook.solutions.aap.org/

Radiation and Imaging

Basic Radiology
From Access Medicine.
Michael Y.M. Chen, Thomas L. Pope, David J. Ott
Interpreting Chest X-Rays, CT Scans, and MRIs
From Access Medicine, Chapter 15 Respiratory: An Integrated Approach to Disease
MedPix
From the National Libraries of Medicine, and NIH
Search for ultrasound and CT images by organ system and category of disease or pathology

Diagnostic Tests

Guide to Diagnostic Tests
7th ed. Diana Nicoll, Chuanyi Mark Lu, Stephen J. McPhee
Point of Care (POC) Commonly Used Tests
From Access Medicine: Guide to Diagnostic Tests, 7e. POC Tests/Microscopy

Psychiatric Evaluation

Psyhiatric Interviewing, 3rd. ed.
Shea, Shawn Christopher
Psychiatric Evaluation of Children and Adolescents

Mental Health Resources

American Foundation for Suicide Prevention
Additional Resources by Mental Health Condition
From the American Foundation for Suicide Prevention

Screening for Depression

Patient Health Questionnaire 9
From MedCalc - Objectifies degree of depression severity.

Electrocardiography

Guidelines for Known and Suspected Cardiovascular Disease or Dysfunction
Basic ECG Reading
From Access Medicine, Chapter 19 Clinician's Pocket Reference: Basic ECG Reading
Electrocardiography (Book Chapter)
From NCBI Bookshelf: Clinical Methods: The History, Physical, and Laboratory Examinations. 3rd edition.

Drug Information

DailyMed
From the U.S. National Library of Medicine; includes patient counseling information
Natural Medicines
Uses a standardized evidence grading system for herbal, dietary, and other integrative therapies. Includes interaction checker and effectiveness checker (formerly Natural Standard)
Lexidrug
Provided by Sanford Hospital Detailed drug information for health professionals who prescribe and administer medications.

Potential Poisoning

Evaluation of the Poisoned Patient
From ClinicalKey: Davidson's Principles and Practice of Medicine. 23rd ed.

Neurological Examination

Outline of the Screening Neurological Examination
From ClinicalKey: Bradley's Neurology in Clinical Practice 8th ed.

Rare Disease Information

National Organization for Rare Disorders (NORD)
Physician and patient information.

Cost of Care Resources

Cost Distress Screening Tool and Conversation Guides
From the American College of Physicians (ACP), May 2019