LibGuides: Medical Education: Pillar 1

Databases

2 Minute Medicine (Access Medicine)
2 Minute Medicine (2MM) is an expert physician publishing group founded out of Harvard Medical School that provides concise, curated, and authoritative medical reports

There are a number of databases available to medical students through USD. Please browse through the available databases, filter by health/medicine, or use the quick links below:

Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy
DynaMed
DynaMed Levels of Evidence Summary
JAMA Evidence
The Rational Clinical Examination, Users' Guide to Medical Literature
Number Needed to Treat (NNT)
A framework and rating system to evaluate therapies based on their patient-important benefits and harms as well as a system to evaluate diagnostics by patient sign, symptom, lab test or study.
PubMed

First Year, Sem. 1

Medical Foundations 1
Medical Foundations 2
Foundations of Clinical Medicine 1

First Year, Sem. 2

Skin and Musculoskeletal
Nervous System
Blood/Hemo/Lymphatic
GI and Hepatobiliary
Foundations of Clinical Medicine 2

Second Year, Sem. 3

Cardiovascular System
Respiratory System
Renal & Urinary System
Endocrine & Reproductive
Foundations of Clinical Medicine 3
Physical Diagnosis

Textbook Resources

Gastrointestinal Physiology by Kim E. Barrett
ISBN: 9780071774017
Publication Date: 2013-09-10

Atlas of Human Anatomy by Frank H. Netter
ISBN: 9780323393225
Publication Date: 2018-02-27
Basic and Clinical Pharmacology 14E by Bertram G. Katzung; Anthony J. Trevor
ISBN: 9781259641152
Publication Date: 2017-11-30
Basic Immunology by Abul K. Abbas; Andrew H. H. Lichtman; Shiv Pillai
ISBN: 9780323549431
Publication Date: 2019-04-10
Cardiovascular Physiology by David E. Mohrman; Lois Jane Heller
ISBN: 9781260026115
Publication Date: 2018-07-06
Ganong's Review of Medical Physiology by Heddwen L. Brooks; Jason Yuan
ISBN: 9781260122404
Publication Date: 2019-01-29
Medical Microbiology by Patrick R. Murray; Ken S. Rosenthal; Michael A. Pfaller
ISBN: 9780323299565
Publication Date: 2015-10-28
Medical Physiology by Walter F. Boron; Emile L. Boulpaep
ISBN: 9781455743773
Publication Date: 2016-05-05
Robbins and Cotran Pathologic Basis of Disease by Vinay Kumar; Abul K. Abbas; Jon C. Aster
ISBN: 9780808924500
Publication Date: 2014-06-01
Goodman and Gilman's the Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics, 13th Edition by Randa Hilal-Dandan; Bjorn Knollman; Laurence Brunton
ISBN: 9781259584732
Publication Date: 2017-12-05
How to Read a Paper by Trisha Greenhalgh
ISBN: 9781119484721
Publication Date: 2019-04-04

Using DISCERN

DISCERN Instrument
DISCERN is a brief questionnaire which provides users with a valid and reliable way of assessing the quality of written information on treatment choices for a health problem. From DISCERN.org

Dictionaries

Dorland's Illustrated Medical Dictionary
Provides authoritative, concise definitions for a wide range of terms used in medicine.
Get It Glossary
Plain language definitions of health research terms.
Visual Medical Dictionary
Enter a disease, drug, or therapy name to see a visual map of related concepts.

Skin Exam

Learn Derm by Visual Dx

Includes 5 lessons and 2 quizzes :

The Skin Exam
Lesion Identification
Body Location & Distribution
Recognizing Configurations
Morphologic Variation
Morphology Quiz
Distribution Quiz