E-mail me anytime to make an appointment for a one-on-one or group consultation.
The University Libraries webpage, http://www.usd.edu/library, gives you access to thousands of resources. After selecting ID Weeks or Wegner Health Sciences Library for your search, look for the white and red bar in the middle of the page:
Books & More
Also known as One Search, is a search tool that allows you to quickly search many of the library's resources at once. One Search is great for searching the library catalog, database content, and digital collections. Use One Search as your starting point for your research, especially if you are unfamiliar on a topic or resource type (book, article, etc.). One Search is a great place to begin your research, but use other tools for more in- depth searches (i.e., databases for articles, or the library catalog for books and journals). For more information, visit the One Search libguide or contact your librarian.
University Libraries has 200+ databases. For help doing specialized searches in the databases, contact your librarian.
Journal Finder allows you to search for journals by title or ISSN.
These guides are created by librarians to help users with research assistance, library resources, or library guidance for specific subjects and courses.
Request materials from other libraries if the University Libraries doesn't have it. Use your USD username: firstname.lastname and the password you use to access your USD email to register for an account. Once registered you can request electronic articles, physical books, or other materials.
LibKey Nomad is a browser extension that connects users with library-licensed and open access full text articles. LibKey Nomad is available for most major browsers, including Google Chrome, Brave, Edge, Firefox, and Safari. When using LibKey Nomad, users are automatically directed to the best available version of an article so there is no need to search multiple places. When the full text is not available you will be provided with options to request the article through InterLibrary Loan (ILL).
LibKey Nomad does not require the creation of a personal account, it does not track users or hold credentials, and it is only active when on the web page of a scholarly publisher or database.
Note: If you are using Google Chrome with your usd.edu account, you will need to log out before installing the LibKey Nomad extension. USD's organizational access does not include the Google extensions store. After installation, you can log back into Chrome with your usd.edu account and LibKey Nomad should work.
What are you looking for?
1) A book (known or unknown):
Search Books, Articles & More in the library catalog.
2) A specific article with a known DOI or PMID:
Search using LibKey.io.
3) A specific article with an unknown DOI or PMID:
Pick a database like Web of Science, ScienceDirect or Google Scholar and do a title search. You can also search for the journal volume/issue using the steps in #4.
4) A specific journal title:
Search for the title using BrowZine or Journal Search in the library catalog.
5) Research on a topic you're just getting started with:
Pick a database like Web of Science or PubMed, or pick a reference resource like Science Reference Source, and search the topic.
