Scholarly Communication & Publishing: Open Educational Resources
Information concerning Open Access, copyright, predatory publishers, impact factors, altmetrics, author rights, public access policy and data management plans.
Textbooks are created (or, where possible, re-created from existing open educational resources) by BC post-secondary faculty, reviewed by B.C. faculty and made available under a Creative Commons license.
A growing consortium of community and technical colleges committed to expanding access to education and increasing student success through adoption of open educational policy, practices, and resources.
DOAB provides a searchable index to peer-reviewed monographs and edited collections published under an open access license, with links to the full texts of the publications at the publisher’s website or repository.
From the University of Texas; includes topics such as behavior, law & policy, leadership, science, medicine & research, professional, media, arts, & culture, and organizational ethics.
Collection of over 22,000 freely available digital materials for health sciences education. The collection is housed at the University of Utah J. Willard Marriott Digital Library.
The MERLOT system provides access to curated online learning and support materials and content creation tools, led by an international community of educators, learners and researchers.
A network for teaching and learning materials, the web site offers engagement with resources in the form of social bookmarking, tagging, rating, and reviewing.
A collection of high quality, free-to-use courses that you can download and use for teaching. All content is stored in Google docs making it easy to access, browse and download.
From the University of Minnesota. A collection of books have been reviewed by faculty from a variety of colleges and universities to assess their quality. These books can be downloaded for no cost, or printed at low cost.
An index of 200+ books published across Pressbooks networks. Covers a large variety of subjects including Physics, Philosophy, Research Methods, Communication Studies, Business and Economics.
The 7 Things You Should Know About...series is part of the EDUCAUSE Learning Initiative (ELI) which provides concise information on emerging learning technologies.
