LibGuides: Apps and Mobile Resources for Health Sciences and Medicine: Lexicomp

Android Instructions

Please note the following 2 steps that must be completed to access your subscription. Details of each step of the process are described below.

Step 1 – Create an account with Lexicomp via the Lexicomp website and activate your subscription within this account.
- You will need an authorization code to activate your subscription. This can be found by navigating to the Lexicomp database in the A-Z Databases list and clicking Mobile Access Codes under Help and Training Resources.
Step 2 – Install the Lexicomp app on your device and sign in with your login and password from your Lexicomp account.

Visit https://www.lexi.com/account/create/.
- Enter your registration information and click Create Account.
  - You must register with your organizational e-mail address.
  - Remember your chosen email address and password used to create this account as you will need these during step 2.
Log into the account you just created; click Log in now.
Enter your Email Address and Password; click Log in.
In the Subscriptions section, locate Add a Subscription by Code.
Enter the Authorization Code; click Add Subscription.
- If you receive "The product code is not valid" message, please confirm the code was entered correctly and try again.
- You may also need to update your email address to your organizational email.
  - Once logged in, click CHANGE EMAIL ADDRESS on the right side of the screen.
  - Enter your organizational email address and click Update.
You will receive an email with a 5-character PIN at your registered email address.
Enter the PIN into the Verify PIN field; Click Verify.
Click Finish.

On your Android device, tap the Play Store icon and search for Lexicomp.
Select Lexicomp and tap Install. If a warning appears, tap Accept.
Open the Lexicomp app on your device.
Please read the license agreement and tap Accept.
Enter your email and password and tap Sign In. If you forgot your password, click Forgot Password.
You will receive an Account Synced message. Tap OK to this message.
You must download the databases before you can begin accessing your subscription.
Place check marks next to the databases you wish to install, or tap Select All and then tap Begin Update.
If prompted, tap OK.
After the update is complete, tap the Menu button in the top right corner and tap Home.
Select an icon to begin accessing your Lexicomp Mobile App subscription.

Updates may take some time, depending upon the database(s) selected, the connection speed, and the speed of your device's memory.
The Lexicomp Mobile App requires a strong cellular or Wi-Fi signal for installation. The application may transfer a significant amount of data, which could result in charges from your carrier. It is recommended you utilize an unlimited data plan or connect to a Wi-Fi network when installing or updating this product. Please contact your carrier for assistance with your data plan or with utilizing a Wi-Fi connection.
The Android application requires access to the Play Store, 2.0 GB of available space, and a device running the latest two versions of Android OS. To verify you have a compatible device, access SETTINGS > ABOUT. If you have an earlier version, please update your device before continuing. The Play Store requires you to have a Gmail account. If you do not have a Gmail account, please visit: http://accounts.google.com to create one.

Please note the following 2 steps that must be completed to access your subscription. Details of each step of the process are described below.

Step 1 – Create an account with Lexicomp via the Lexicomp website and activate your subscription within this account.
- You will need an authorization code to activate your subscription. This can be found by navigating to the Lexicomp database in the A-Z Databases list and clicking Mobile Access Codes under Help and Training Resources.
Step 2 – Install the Lexicomp app on your iPhone or iPad and sign in with your login and password from your Lexicomp account.

Visit https://www.lexi.com/account/create/.
- Enter your registration information and click Create Account.
  - You must register with your organizational e-mail address.
  - Remember your chosen email address and password used to create this account as you will need these during step 2.
Log into the account you just created; click Log in now.
Enter your Email Address and Password; click Log in.
In the Subscriptions section, locate Add a Subscription by Code.
Enter the Authorization Code; click Add Subscription.
- If you receive "The product code is not valid" message, please confirm the code was entered correctly and try again.
- You may also need to update your email address to your organizational email.
  - Once logged in, click CHANGE EMAIL ADDRESS on the right side of the screen.
  - Enter your organizational email address and click Update.
You will receive an email with a 5-character PIN at your registered email address.
Enter the PIN into the Verify PIN field; Click Verify.
Click Finish.

On your iOS device, tap on the App Store icon and search for Lexicomp.
Select Lexicomp and tap Get or Free, then Install, or the small cloud with a downward arrow, and enter your iTunes password (if prompted) and tap OK.
Open the Lexicomp app on your device.
Enter your email and password and tap Sign In. If you forgot your password, click Forgot Password.
Please read the license agreement and tap Accept.
Select Automatic Update preference: WiFi only or Wifi and Data; Tap Next.
Select your Library content preference: I will select the content sets to install; or Download ALL content sets for me; Tap Get Started.
Select content sets or tap Download ALL.
After the update is complete, tap the Menu button in the top right corner and tap Home.
Select an icon to begin accessing your Lexicomp Mobile App subscription.

Updates may take some time, depending upon the database(s) selected, the connection speed, and the speed of your device's memory.
The Lexicomp Mobile App requires a strong cellular or Wi-Fi signal for installation. The application may transfer a significant amount of data, which could result in charges from your carrier. It is recommended you utilize an unlimited data plan or connect to a Wi-Fi network when installing or updating this product. Please contact your carrier for assistance with your data plan or with utilizing a Wi-Fi connection.
The iPhone, iPod touch, or iPad application requires an active Apple ID, 2.0 GB of available space, and a device running the latest two versions of iOS. To verify you have a compatible device, access SETTINGS > GENERAL > ABOUT. If you have an earlier version, please update your device before continuing. If you do not have an iTunes account, please visit: https://support.apple.com/ to create one.