LibGuides: Avera Nursing &amp; Pharmacy Staff: Library Resources

Welcome!

This guide contains links to the resources and services available to Avera nursing and pharmacy professionals located at:

Avera McKennan Hospital & University Health Center
Avera Specialty Hospital
Avera Behavioral Health

Remote Access Request Form
This enables users from partner groups to access subscription databases from home or office.

Announcement

Avera unintentionally gained access to all the University of South Dakota's subscriptions and resources following an update to EZ Proxy. This will be resolved by the end of February 2024 and Avera users will continue to have access to resources available through their partnership with Wegner Library. The subscriptions and resources available to Avera users can be found in the "Subscription Resources" box on the Avera LibGuide. If there are any questions, please contact Dan Daily, Dean of Libraries.

Accessing Library Resources

Using your login is only required when you need to get into the full text of an eBook, article, or subscription database (e.g., CINAHL). There is no need to search for a login option for Wegner Library resources. Rather, when a login is necessary, the following page will appear:

Your login username will follow the following format: first.last@wegnerlibrary.org. Regardless of what your actual email extension is, you will need to follow this format. Note, this is NOT a new email address; it is for logging in to Wegner Library resources only. Your password is your chosen or assigned password when you received your remote access credentials.

If you need assistance with your password, please email Wegner Library.

If need remote access, you can find a link to the form in the left column of this page.

Subscription Resources

Subscription resources available to Avera users:

Access Medicine This link opens in a new window
The Access Medicine package to which the Health Sciences Libraries subscribes includes: Harrison’s, as well as Hurst’s the Heart, and the Lange series in the basic medical sciences and in the clinical sciences. There are many more e-textbooks. Performs better using Firefox or Chrome
Provides access to several commonly used medical e-books including Harrison’s Online, CURRENT Medical Diagnosis & Treatment, and Goodman & Gilman’s The Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics. Also contains practice guidelines, drug information, common laboratory tests, USMLE-format questions for self-assessment, case files, patient education, and many videos, audio clips, images and illustrations. Accessible from mobile devices.
Access Pharmacy This link opens in a new window
A pharmacy education resource that includes more than 80 key pharmacy reference books, quick reference (including herbs and supplements information), drug information (including dosages, trade names, and pricing), multimedia presentations and video, drug therapy cases with practice questions, study tools, and NAPLEX review help.
AccessPhysiotherapy This link opens in a new window
This comprehensive online physiotherapy resource integrates leading physical therapy textbooks, procedure and exercise videos, image galleries, self-assessment tools, and a unique cadaver dissection tool –optimized for viewing on any device.
F.A. Davis PT Collection This link opens in a new window
The F.A. Davis PT Collection on AccessPhysiotherapy is the most comprehensive digital subscription product on the market for educators and physical therapy students. This partnership between F.A. Davis and McGraw-Hill Education brings you a comprehensive online PT resource that covers the entire spectrum of physical therapy—for viewing on any device.
CINAHL Complete (via EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
A primary database for nursing and allied health students and professionals. CINAHL Complete can be searched simultaneously with other EBSCO databases such as EBSCO’s MEDLINE database. Accessible from mobile devices.
ClinicalKey Nursing This link opens in a new window
Contains Mosby’s evidence-based nursing monographs written by nursing experts with the latest and most relevant evidence to help answer clinical questions. Contains eBooks, journal articles, disease overviews, patient education, drug information and calculators, practice guidelines, and images. Accessible from mobile devices.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Includes Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, the Cochrane Methodology Register and other high-quality resources. Each resource contains reviewed evidence to improve care and research.
JAMAevidence This link opens in a new window
JAMAevidence helps to identify the best available evidence through educational guides such as the Users’ Guide to Medical Literature, the Rational Clinical Examination: Evidence Based Clinical Diagnosis, and Care at the Close of Life: Evidence and Experience.
Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Database (via OVID) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to over 3,000 records across seven publication types: Evidence Based Recommended Practices, Evidence Summaries, Best Practice Information Sheets, Systematic Reviews, Consumer Information Sheets, Systematic Review Protocols, and Technical Reports.
Ovid This link opens in a new window
Access to Books@Ovid (a collection of quick-reference e-books, plus many American Nurses Association standards), Journals@Ovid (full text journals in PDF from Lippincott/LWW), Joanna Briggs Institute Evidence Based Practice documents (JBI), and Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI, help for finding surveys, questionnaires, etc.)
PubMed This link opens in a new window
National Library of Medicine’s interface for searching MEDLINE and other medical literature. Citations and abstracts to the world’s literature in medicine, nursing, pharmacy, dentistry, public health, allied health, health administration, and the pre-clinical sciences with links to the articles listed. PubMed when launched from the library site displays USD's red “UGetIt!” button with each citation to give access to articles directly or through the library's document delivery service. Accessible from mobile devices.
Stedman’s Medical Dictionary This link opens in a new window
Stedman’s Medical Dictionary Online and the other Stedman’s reference products on StedmansOnline are the direct successors to the first American medical dictionary, Dr. Robley Dunglinson’s A New Dictionary of Medical Science and Literature, first published in 1833. The work continued through successive editions until the 23rd and last edition, which was edited by Thomas Lathrop Stedman, MD in 1903. Five years later, Dr. Stedman wrote a modernized version of the Dunglison dictionary. It was published in 1911 as A Practical Medical Dictionary and is now known as Stedman’s Medical Dictionary.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities.

Contact Us

Call us: 605-357-1400

Email us: wegner@usd.edu

Library Business Hours

Monday-Thursday 8:00am-5:30pm

Friday 8:00am-5:00pm

Some badge-swipe entry available for student study. Check with your program or email us.
Bring school/hospital I.D. badge.
Closed state and federal holidays & observances.


Exceptions to Regular Hours