Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Avera Library Resources (for Nursing Staff): Johns Hopkins Evidence-Based Practice Model (JHNEBP)

A guide to resources for Avera Health Nursing Staff

JHNEBP

JHNEBP Model

"The Johns Hopkins Evidence-Based Practice for Nurses and Healthcare Professionals Model is a powerful problem-solving approach to clinical decision-making and is accompanied by user-friendly tools to guide individual or group use."

 

All information on this page is from the following source:

Dang, D., Dearholt, S., Bissett, K., Ascenzi, J., & Whalen, M. (2022). Johns Hopkins evidence-based practice for nurses and healthcare professionals: model and guidelines. 4th ed. Indianapolis, IN: Sigma Theta Tau International

Hands-On Learning of JHNEBP Model

Johns Hopkins offers hands-on trainings in EBP.  Find out what classes are available on the Johns Hopkins Nursing Education page.

Search Strategy Development

The following steps will help to search the evidence for an answerable EBP question:

  1. Identify searchable keywords and any synonyms or related terms.  Record them in the Question Development Tool (Appendix B)
  2. Identify the type of information needed and list the intended sources to search (e.g., what databases will be searched?)
  3. Develop a search strategy
  4. Evaluate the results for relevance to the EBP question
  5. Revise the search strategy as needed
  6. Record and save the search strategy specifics (e.g., database, results, filters, etc.) on Appendix B
  7. Screen the results based on inclusion/exclusion criteria

Levels of Evidence

Appendix D

JHNEBP Levels Hierarchy

 

Research Evidence (Appendix E)

  • Level I
    • Experimental study, randomized controlled trial (RCT)

    • Explanatory mixed methods design that includes only a Level I quaNtitative study

    • Systematic review of RCTs, with or without meta-analysis

  • Level II

    •  Quasi-experimental study

    • Explanatory mixed methods design that includes only a Level II quaNtitative study

    • Systematic review of a combination of RCTs and quasi-experimental studies, or quasi-experimental studies only, with or without meta-analysis

  • Level III

    • Nonexperimental study

    • Systematic review of a combination of RCTs, quasi-experimental and nonexperimental studies, or nonexperimental studies only, with or without meta-analysis.

    • Exploratory, convergent, or multiphasic mixed methods studies

    • Explanatory mixed methods design that includes only a Level III quaNtitative study

    • QuaLitative study

    • Systematic review of quaLitative studies with or without meta-synthesis

 

Non-Research Evidence (Appendix F)

  • Level IV
    • Opinion of respected authorities and/or nationally recognized expert committees or consensus panels based on scientific evidence. Includes:

      • Clinical practice guidelines

      • Consensus panels/position statements

  • Level V
    • Based on experiential and non-research evidence. Includes:

      • Scoping reviews

      • Integrative reviews

      • Literature reviews

      • Quality improvement, program or financial evaluation

      • Case reports

      • Opinion of nationally recognized expert(s) based on experiential evidence

 

Footer for USD LibGuide v2.0