LibGuides: Avera Nursing &amp; Pharmacy Staff: Tutorials / Help

Navigating the Wegner Library Databases

Getting to the Full Text, Including the Use of ILL

Database & Resource Help/Tutorials

CINAHL Complete (via EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
A primary database for nursing and allied health students and professionals. CINAHL Complete can be searched simultaneously with other EBSCO databases such as EBSCO’s MEDLINE database. Accessible from mobile devices.

Searching with CINAHL
Highlights subject searching, using CINAHL's thesaurus, exploding terms, tips & tricks, etc.

*Please Note* Most CINAHL tutorial videos tell you to limit your search to full text only; however, this will severely limit your search results. Since you have access to a library that can provide the full text to you, no matter where it may be housed outside of the CINAHL database, we suggest that you DO NOT limit your search to full text only.

ClinicalKey Nursing This link opens in a new window
Contains Mosby’s evidence-based nursing monographs written by nursing experts with the latest and most relevant evidence to help answer clinical questions. Contains eBooks, journal articles, disease overviews, patient education, drug information and calculators, practice guidelines, and images. Accessible from mobile devices.

ClinicalKey for Nursing Overview
Highlights what is included in the ClinicalKey for Nursing database, and where to locate specific resource types.

Video: ClinicalKey for Nursing Overview

*Please Note* This video was created by Elsevier.

Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Includes Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, the Cochrane Methodology Register and other high-quality resources. Each resource contains reviewed evidence to improve care and research.

What is in the Cochrane Library?
Searching for Studies using Advanced Search
Cochrane PICO Search
Cochrane PICO Search (beta) is made available in the Cochrane Library as a pre-release for large-scale testing. Their aim is to learn from this to prioritize future developments and enhancements of PICO search.

JBI
Evidence to inform clinical practice that is derived from JBI's Global Collaborating Centers of Excellence in 40+ countries. Includes summarized research evidence in a format that is easy to locate, understand, and evaluate current evidence quickly.
more...less...
Formerly known as Joanna Briggs Institute.

Searching in JBI on Ovid
Highlights the search features found in JBI on Ovid. Highlights search functions and abilities.

How to use Journals@Ovid
Use these directions to access full-text journals from Lippincott/LWW.
How to use Books@Ovid.
A collection of quick-reference e-books, plus many American Nurses Association standards.

PubMed This link opens in a new window
National Library of Medicine’s interface for searching MEDLINE and other medical literature. Citations and abstracts to the world’s literature in medicine, nursing, pharmacy, dentistry, public health, allied health, health administration, and the pre-clinical sciences with links to the articles listed. PubMed when launched from the library site displays USD's red “UGetIt!” button with each citation to give access to articles directly or through the library's document delivery service. Accessible from mobile devices.

Always enter PubMed from the Wegner Library home page or from the Library Resources tab on this guide.

Why? Users will gain more immediate access to the full text of an article.
If the full text is not available, users will be automatically routed to ILL to request the full text; even pre-filing the request form for you. This is a HUGE TIME SAVER!
If you do not see the once you click into an article abstract; you have not logged in through the library.

Visit our PubMed Guide
For additional how-to information

Create an NCBI (PubMed) Account