Avera Nursing & Pharmacy Staff: Other Resources

Federal agency charged with improving the safety and quality of America's health care system. AHRQ develops the knowledge, tools, and data needed to improve the health care system and help Americans, health care professionals, and policymakers make informed health decisions.

From the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality. Innovations and tools to improve quality and reduce disparities.

Provides information about diseases and conditions, traveler's health, immunization schedules, guidelines, disease surveillance, data & statistics, emergency preparedness, and patient education.

A database of privately and publicly funded clinical studies conducted around the world. For researchers and patients.

Contains information on drugs and other chemicals to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed. Includes information on the levels of such substances in breast milk and infant blood, and the possible adverse effects in the nursing infant. Suggested therapeutic alternatives to those drugs are provided, where appropriate.

MedlinePlus is an online information service produced by the United States National Library of Medicine. The service provides curated consumer health information in English and Spanish with select content in additional languages. Includes drug information. A trusted place to send patients for health information!

Provides key facts about many diseases and conditions, as well as health/social/economic consequences, recommended guidelines (when applicable) and WHO's response.

Resources for Nurses and Nurse Educators

From the Centers for Disease Control

Adults with intellectual and developmental disabilities are the primary audience for these videos, but many other individuals, with and without disabilities, may benefit.

From the Kaiser Family Foundation

Clinical decision support tool. Only the COVID-19 material is free.

Home of the Guidelines Trust; a non-profit, independent organization focused on safe, effective health care.

This course will provide licensed medical professionals with an understanding of mechanical ventilation so they can support the critical care team caring for patients receiving mechanical ventilation during the COVID-19 pandemic.

Only the COVID-19 material is free.

Portal to PubMed, and other resources from the National Library of Medicine and National Institutes of Health

Includes drug info, clinical overviews, nursing skills, and patient education