Skip to main content

Graphic Design

Gateway into graphic design resources at USD

Online Reference Books

Oxford Art Online - a.k.a. Grove Art  This is the best place to start your research! Includes Grove Art Online (an online encyclopedia of the visual arts with over 45,000 articles and over 130,000 images), Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. 

  • Includes bios of many fashion designers.

Check out this tutorial for help getting started with Oxford Art Online!

Oxford Reference Online

Oxford Reference Online is a fully indexed, cross-searchable database of about 100 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press.

Here are a few examples of the great titles you can access online with Oxford Reference:

Search for Books, Music, Videos, Journal Titles, and Other Media

Search the USD Libraries Online Catalog
by Keyword(s) in Subject

 
Go to the Advanced Search for more search options.

Exhibition Catalogs

See the Assignment Help tab for more information on finding Exhibition Catalogs, critisism, and artist info in the Libraries  online catalog .

Here are a few subject headings you can try:

Art, Modern -- 20th century -- Catalogs

Art -- New York (N.Y.) -- Catalogs

Museum of Modern Art (New York, N.Y.) -- Catalogs

Google Books

Search Google Books for your topic. Depending on the copyright for each item, you may see the full text or preview for book.

Google Book Search
Google Book Search

Graphic Design eBooks

The Library has access to hundreds of ebooks you can read from any computer.

ebrary
Find hundreds of ebooks on just about any subject, including these titles:

Browsing the Stacks

Browse the following call numbers in the collection to find graphic design books on these topics:

HF 5821-6182

NC

NC 760

NC 997-1003

ND

NK

PN 1995.5.P5

T 385

Z 116-265

Z 250

Advertising

Drawing, Graphic design

Artistic anatomy

Commercial art

Painting

Decorative arts

Movie posters

Image manipulation

Printing, Print production, Typography

Type faces, Fonts

More info

WorldCat Search

Search for an item in libraries
near you, and anywhere in the world!

WorldCat.org >>

Browse Books by Subjects at the U. Libraries

Browsing the University Libraries online catalog by Subject Headings can be useful when choosing topics to research.

Here are some examples:

Art, Abstract

Art, American

Art--Criticism

Feminism in Art

Footer for USD LibGuide v2.0