LibGuides: Data Sources: Home

Bloomberg Analytics Terminals

Ellis Finance & Analytics Lab
Bloomberg Terminals are located in the lab at Beacom School of Business #309.
Spring 2024 lab hours:
Mon: 8-10am, 11am-5pm
Tue: 330-5pm
Wed: 8-10am, 11am-5pm
Thu: 330-5pm
Fri: 8-10am, 11am-5pm

Access to real-time worldwide financial market and economic data
Excellent source for financial statement data on publicly listed companies, industries, equities, bonds, and currencies

APA Example Citation for Bloomberg Data Sets:

Bloomberg L.P. (2023). Amazon.com inc. quarterly financial statement analysis, 2022Q1 - 2022Q2 in USD [Data set]. Retrieved March 1, 2023 from Bloomberg Terminal.

Note: Access to data from Bloomberg Terminals can only be obtained within the lab.

US Economic Data

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics
The Interactive Data tool provides options for downloading CSV and Excel formats
Bureau of Economic Analysis
US GDP, Consumer Spending, Income & Saving, Industries, International Trade & Investment, Prices & Inflation, Investment in Fixed Assets, Employment, Government, Special Topics

International Economics (country-level economic data)

Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD)
The OECD also provides well organized country and regional economic development publications.
Excel data - stats.oecd.org
OECD iLibrary.org

The Observatory of Economic Complexity (OEC)
Focuses on international trade statistics. See "bulk download" under the "Data" tab.
The Observatory of Economic Complexity (OEC) Tradle Daily Trivia Game
Fun daily quiz where you guess which country matches with the trade data profile.

Health Services Administration

Healthcare Cost & Utilization (HCUP) Databases

The Dartmouth Institute of Health Policy and Clinical Practice
US health care datasets used in research publications from the institute. The Dartmouth Atlas Project also contains health indicator maps and visualizations.
Excel data -- HCUP Fast Stats Complete Download Tables
National and state trend data in hospital utilization by payer and costs
HCUPnet
A free, online query system for accessing data tables from HCUP's nationwide and select State databases. It retrieves hospital inpatient and emergency department settings, as well as population-based healthcare data on counties
National Center for Health Statistics
Contains large surveys maintained by the Centers for Disease control and Prevention.
One may have to complete an application for full raw survey datasets.
National Emergency Department Sample (NEDS) 2006-2020
Data for investigating quality of emergency care, differences in use of emergency department services in rural and urban areas, impact of health policy changes, differences in admission rates, access to care, and use of emergency department services by special populations.

South Dakota Association of Healthcare Organizations

Excel data -- South Dakota Hospital Charge Compare
Data on outpatient admission charges from South Dakota hospitals.
Data on MSDRG charges from South Dakota hospitals.
MSDRG (Medicare Severity Diagnosis Related Groups)

Industry and Consumer Marketing Data

Gapminder
Contains easy to manage full CSV yearly country data on economy, labor, technology use, infrastructure, population, and a variety of other country indicators. Data is typically from 2000-2020.
Kaggle
A free login provides access to over 190,000 data sets from a variety of disciplines.
Contains many business product review, customer review, and hotel booking data sets from large companies.
Data sets are scored on scale of 1-10 for their "usability".
National Zoning Atlas
Useful for building trades planning, housing industry, climate response, and infrastructure planning. Not all states have been added yet.
Pew Research data
Helpful in gathering consumer marketing information.
The published reports may be more useful as data tends to export in PDF format.

Other Data Respositories

Google Patents Public Data
Google Patents Public Data, provided by IFI CLAIMS Patent Services, is a worldwide bibliographic and US full-text dataset of patent publications.
Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)
ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 250,000 files of research in the social and behavioral sciences. It hosts 21 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, healthcare and spending attitudes/behaviors.
RED: The University of South Dakota Institutional Repository
There are currently many faculty publications from USD business and other departments located in this repository. RED is a service of the University of South Dakota University Libraries that promotes and shares the scholarship, creative works, and data created by University of South Dakota faculty, students, and institutional partners. This is also a good place to store works that one may not intend to publish but would like to make available for others to access and cite for future works.
Search Data.gov
Contains agriculture, climate, energy, local government, maritime, ocean, and older adult health data.
Search DataUSA.io
Under the cart icon, there options to download data on federal agency spending by state, average wage for jobs, and population by county. The site also contains many data visualizations of various statistics on the US.
UCI Machine Learning Repository
University of California Irvine
Center for Machine Learning and Intelligent systems