Skip to Main Content

Data Sources: Statista

This research guide provides links to repositories for finding business data

What is Statista?

Statista is a global data and business intelligence platform with an extensive collection of statistics, reports, and insights on over 80,000 topics from 22,500 sources in 170 industries.

Topics include media, business, politics, society, technology, and education. Sources include market reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases. Charts can be downloaded in PNG, PowerPoint, Excel, or PDF formats or embedded in web pages and can be great in papers or presentations.

How to access Statista

Using this link to the library databases, click on “S” to go to database names starting with S. Alternatively, search for “Statista” under the databases search bar.

How to use Statista

Statista Search: The search box on the Statista homepage is the starting point for all searches. Type a term into the search box; as you type, the autofill will suggest terms related to your search. This will locate everything in the database related to your search term.

Tips for better results: https://www.statista.com/getting-started/working-with-statista-tips-for-better-search-results

Search Results

Search results

Download: You can download statistics in different formats. All Statista content can thus perfectly accommodate your needs and workflows. Simply click on one of the buttons for the different formats located to the right of the statistic: PNG, PDF, XLS, and PPT.

Source: Next to each statistic, Statista displays all information regarding the origin of the data. The database distinguishes between the source, the publisher, and a link to ask Statista for a customized research result.

Cite: The APA, MLA, Chicago, Harvard, and Bluebook style citations are available for each chart and graphic. To access the citation, click on the quotation mark icon beside the statistic, as seen below.

Other Features

At the top of the Statista home page, there are additional features you could explore.

Statistics: Find statistics, consumer survey results, and industry studies from over 22500 sources on over 80000 topics

Reports: Find your information in the Statista database containing over 20,000 reports.

Insights: Get detailed information on markets, consumers, companies, and e-commerce.

Daily Data: Global stories vividly visualized.

Footer for USD LibGuide v2.0